Wednesday, February 25, 2009

Safe Driving

It has been brought to my attention that some think my driving skills are not quite up to par. I will say this, I have been driving for 52 years, and have not had one accident with a moving vehicle. I did once hit a moving deer, but that was all his fault, not mine. I have noticed every year the traffic continues to get worse. Other vehicles around me are going faster, honking more, and giving all sorts of dirty looks as they pass me.

Well, allow me to give some safe driving tips from my many years of safe driving.

1 The speed limit is the maximum allowed. Most of the time you ought to go at least 10 under, 15 under if you are in a new area.

2 Always get in the lane you expect to turn from at least 3 miles in advance. You don't want to surprise the drivers behind you with any quick movements. Don't worry about being called a "left laner, no brainer". I believe that is the term Pete Falcon came up with.

3 Accelerate very slowly. It is better for gas mileage, and keeps breakfast down better.

4 Join AARP!! They will lobby for seniors to drive until they are at least 95. I don't think driving skills diminish until well after 100 myself.

5 Honk at every bicyclist you see. They truly are an annoyance on the roads.

6 One last comment. I don't understand why anyone would drive anything but a Mercury Grand Marquis or a Buick Le Sabre. I do have some friends that are not as well off that drive a Ford Crown Victoria, and that is OK too.

- George Wilson

13 comments:

  1. You are nuts George.

    We don't need this kind of attitude encouraged. There are just too many "snow-birds" in these parts that really ought not to even have a driver's license anymore. They are not safe on the roads. I won't even begin to go down your "safe driving tips" and give a counterpoint as I would rather we stay friends.

    ReplyDelete
  2. George, do you truly believe that cyclists are an annoyance on the roads? You are contributing with three cyclists on this blog. All three are very safe in traffic, though we tend to stay out of traffic due to drivers such as yourself.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Three miles?!? I guess that is okay for you, but you won't need to have your turn signal on the entire time. Oh wait. You are probably the sort who expects all the other drivers to read your mind, and you don't use turn signals, am I right?

    ReplyDelete
  4. We don't keep our signal on very long because we do not want to run out of turn signal fluid.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Dearest Mildred, where did you ever hear about turn signal fluid?

    ReplyDelete
  6. The last time I took the car in for an oil change, the service manager told me the car was low on turn signal fluid service. So he filled it up for us. They happened to have a special on it that day, only $4.95. But he told me if you don't use the signal as much, you might not run low.

    ReplyDelete
  7. George and Mildred: Aren't you two married to each other? Why are you conversing here? Are you not speaking to each other?

    ReplyDelete
  8. George is hard of hearing along with a bit of memory loss. I told him all about this, but he either didn't listen closely or forgot, so I thought if I wrote it out, he could read about it. He really does enjoy this bloggy stuff. It means so much to him that his nephews asked him to contribute on this site.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I thought maybe you were still having trouble with your tongue. How is that going, by the way? Are you going to post your story?

    ReplyDelete
  10. Soon the post about my tongue will be posted. I just am so busy these days. I will need to sit down and type that story out soon. Thanks for asking. George is so embarrassed about the incident, but I think my story needs to be heard.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Hey Monocogman, Happy Anniversary.
    I love you!
    xox,
    Mrs Monocog

    ReplyDelete
  12. Hey Monocogman, I didn't realize it was your anniversary today. No wonder you were out on the cog' today.

    ReplyDelete
  13. I think you all have gotten way of course from the original post. Probably because of your poor driving skills, and you didn't want to face up to that, so off you go on Monocogman's anniversary and Mildred's broken tongue. I wish that broken tongue incident would just go away.

    ReplyDelete